4/16/2013 12:00:00 AM - TEAM NEWS!

Urtasun wins opening stage at Vuelta a Castilla y Leon

Vuelta a Castilla y Leon 2013

 Euskaltel-Euskadi celebrates first win of the season

Pablo Urtasun (Euskaltel-Euskadi) has won the opening stage of the Vuelta a Castilla y Leon, covering 194.8km from Arevalo to Valladolid. Urtasun delivered the Spanish WorldTour squad its first victory of the season with Francesco Lasca (Caja Rural) and Enrique Sanz (Movistar) rounding out the top three in the field sprint finale.

Urtusan also becomes the first general classification leader at the Vuelta a Castilla y Leon and with time bonuses factored in he leads Lasca by four seconds and Sanz by six seconds overall. Fourth place finisher Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar) and the remainder of the riders who finished in the 49-rider front group all trail by 10 seconds.

The first of three days of racing at the Vuelta a Castilla y Leon was dominated by a seven-man break comprised of Kevin De Mesmaeker (Team Novo Nordisk), Pavel Kochetkov (RusVelo), César Fonte (Efapel-Glassdrive), Luis Mas (Burgos BH-Castilla y Leon), Dalivier Ospina (Colombia), Igor Merino (Euskadi) and Robert Sweeting (5 Hour Energy p/b Kenda).

The escapees pushed their advantage out to 10 minutes early in the stage, but steady pace-making in the peloton, particularly by Movistar, chipped away at their lead. While strong crosswinds split the peloton, nonetheless with 50km remaining the gap to the field had been reduced to a manageable 4:30.

The escapees pressed onwards in hoping the peloton would mistime its chase effort, but with 6km remaining the break was neutralised and the teams of the sprinters prepared to battle for stage honours.

Read more on:
Photo credit © Pasados CyL

PAG. 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 >>
PAG. 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 >>
PAG. 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 >>